Daily beer project

Revisiting Epic Captain Crompton’s Pale Ale

Posted in Epic Brewing, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on January 19, 2011

When I stopped in at Epic a few weeks ago to grab the Mid Mountain Mild, I couldn’t leave with just one beer. So I got a bottle of the Captain Crompton’s Pale Ale, something I tried fairly early on in the project when I was still getting used to hoppy beers. At the time, I said “pale ales aren’t my favorite style…” What a difference a few months make. Even if I hadn’t yet embraced the hops, I still appreciated the quality, commenting “It’s hoppy to be sure, with three hops in the boil, plus a dry hop during aging. But the hops plus the malt provide a broad spectrum of flavor that is immensely satisfying. An awesome pale ale.”

And I can’t think of anything to say now that would disagree with what I said then, I just enjoyed it that much more than I did then. Really a fantastic beer, medium amber in color, appears to be unfiltered, and a nice, fruity, complex bitter from the hops. One thing I would be curious about, though, is where this beer stands by the numbers. I can guess based on what I know about other beers, but it would be nice if Epic published some of the brewing stats beyond abv on their website, such as IBUs, beginning gravity, and ending gravity, the way Sierra Nevada does. Since I’m pretty sure Dave from Epic reads this blog from time to time, what do you say, Dave?

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. DC said, on January 21, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Cant wait until we have the R&D budget of SNB!! We do not regularly check IBUs but I will check our custom brewing program for the estimated IBU Stats and share here. I will also get ya the OG and FG. Something more to consider is the dry hopping rate, this gives the brew the aroma profile kick, I will get that, does SN share dry hop rates?

  2. DC said, on January 21, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Epic Captain Crompton’s Pale Ale
    IBU’s 31
    OG 14 deg Plato
    FG 3.6 deg Plato
    2 pounds of dry Hop (Cascade, pellet) per 10 barrel batch

  3. dailybeerproject said, on January 21, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    DC–thanks so much for the details! SNB does not mention dry hopping rates, and I realize this can alter the flavor and aroma significantly. Keep up the good work. I was at Brewvies for the backcountry film festival last night, and the people with Epic bottles outnumbered the people with pitchers significantly.

  4. Rictanica said, on April 30, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    Good on ya DC! You guys are coming up. Pretty soon you will be inviting local homebrewer contest winners to brew thier recipes at your brewery ( was that me thinking aloud) similar to SNB.


Leave a Reply

