Daily beer project

Black and tan

Posted in Imports, Macrobrews by dailybeerproject on December 31, 2010

Trite. Really what’s the point of a beer cocktail? Nevertheless, curiosity got the best of me, so I ordered a black and tan made from Guiness and Tetley’s. I like Guiness served on tap. Hadn’t had Tetley’s, but I imagine I’d like it straight up. Interestingly, although the beers were poured into the same glass and were more or less blended, the flavor of each was somewhat distinct and identifiable. It was as though the flavors were alternating in my mouth. Which was kind of cool.

I probably won’t order one again, but it was fun to try. I will, however, try a Tetley’s on its own. Probably next time I go to Piper Down for the pub quiz, in fact.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chad said, on December 31, 2010 at 3:50 am

    I actually just had my fist Black and Tan in Nashville last Winter. I’m torn on it. It tasted okay, but I still can’t get over the “girl beer” type mentality of it all. Hmmm? I guess I haven’t had one since, so I kind of have to agree with your critique today.

    • dailybeerproject said, on December 31, 2010 at 4:31 am

      “Girl beer” hadn’t occurred to me, but that’s exactly what it is. Or maybe metrosexual beer. It’s like Zima or Smirnoff ice. Tolerable if that’s all there is, but you’d not want anyone to see you drinking it. And certainly a situation where the whole is less than the sum of its parts.

  2. Tetley’s « Daily beer project said, on January 20, 2011 at 3:08 am

    […] sampled Tetley’s as part of a black and tan a few weeks ago, noting “I imagine I’d like it straight up,” which it turns out I do. […]


Leave a Reply

