Daily beer project

Bah Humbug

Posted in American Craft Beer by dailybeerproject on December 3, 2010

I’ve loaded up on every winter/Christmas beer I can get from the liquor store, so I’ll post reviews as I sample them.

Anderson Valley Winter Solstice: pours a beautiful garner color but with a really thin head that dissipated almost immediately. Aroma is hops with an undisclosed blend of spices, probably coriander and clove among them. Flavor is good but a little too heavily weighted towards the spices. I’m not generally a fan of flavored beers, but spiced winter beers are good so long as the spices are subtle. These spices come on just barely top strong, but still a tasty beer.

McTarnahan’s Bah Humbug’r: Says right on the label that it’s a porter. Pours dark black like a porter. Tastes like a porter but probably the best one I’ve ever had. Smooth, caramel, toasted flavor. Rich but not overwhelming. Not sure if I’m growing more fond of porters or if this is just an exceptionally good one. Perhaps some of each. Either way, an awesome beer.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Retrospective « Daily beer project said, on January 5, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    […] tap, but finding it is a huge challenge–they didn’t even offer it on tap out of Woody. McTarnahan’s Bah Humbug’r is my favorite porter, but it’s a seasonal offering, and I don’t think I’d want to […]


Leave a Reply

