Daily beer project

Wyoming

Posted in American Craft Beer, Utah Beer, Wasatch Beers by dailybeerproject on September 17, 2010

Recently found myself sitting at the Mangy Moose in Teton Village with a good deal of thirst from a little bicycle ride. Nothing like a couple of brews served in 20 ounce glasses to take care of that problem.

Snake River Brewing OB-1: This is an organic brown ale, and a good but not awesome one. I liked it well enough, but all the made-in-Wyoming beer I’ve tried so far has left me a little wanting in the hops department. Maybe cowboys don’t like hoppy beers, I don’t know. It’s reasonably balanced with a pleasant-tasting malt, I just would have liked a little more to it.

Deschutes Brewing Bachelor ESB: Had this right after the OB-1, and it righted everything that was wrong with the previous beer. Granted they’re different styles, I just like this style and this beer better. Nice medium malt with a substantial but not overpowering hop presence, this is just awesome beer. Versatile, too. It was great when I was just really thirsty, but there’s enough to it that it would go well with a meal.

After cooling off from the bike ride, I had a nice steak with two more beers accompanying it.

Snake River Pale Ale: With the OB-1 being good but not great, I decided to try Snake River’s pale ale to see if a style of beer I like better would be more to my liking. Unfortunately, it was not. Very much on the weak end of pale ales in terms of both malt flavor and especially hop presence, this is a beer I had no trouble drinking, I would just have trouble convincing myself to pay for another one.

Deschutes Inversion IPA: Again I followed the Snake River offering with one from Deschutes. And again, I came away impressed with Deschutes. Their Inversion IPA is awesome. It’s fairly potent at 6.8% abv, but it’s in no way overpowering. They’ve really dialed in the hops on this one, and I’m hopeful that, like the Mirror Pond, it’s available at the local liquor store. Thoroughly enjoyed this beer–a great finish to a great day.

In addition to the beers I drank while there, I was also able to stock up on Dale’s Pale Ale in Wyoming. All beer should come in cans, and all beer should be this good. I’ve also sampled a few more since that I’ll mention while I’m at it.

Wasatch Summerbrau Lager: This is a beer whose brand manager can’t seem to decide how to describe it and therefore didn’t. From the Wasatch Beers website: “Wasatch Summerbrau Lager is a…Czech-style pilsner-lager. Our German style lager…” Is it Czech, or is it German? I’ll go with German just because a good Czech Pilsner has more hops than this. It’s got a pleasantly sour malt, which is great for summer, as it’s reminiscent of lemonade. Hops are noticeable but not particularly strong. Overall a good summer beer that would be nice with chips and salsa while you wait for the coals to be ready to barbecue.

Session Black Lager: I’ve said this before, but I don’t think the Full Sail brewery makes a bad beer. Session lagers are intended to satisfy everyone, which when the marketers are doing conjoint analysis may seem like a good idea, but could easily turn out to be a disaster. Making everyone happy is a tough proposition. And while I wouldn’t say Session beers are my favorites, they’re good, they’re cheap, and for some reason the distinctive squat bottle shape is appealing. This dark lager would be a great accompaniment to Mexican food. It’s very similar to Negra Modelo, but about half the cost at the local store, so an appealing choice if you’re hosting a party. It’s not something I’ll likely keep in the fridge, but it is something I’ll keep in mind for the right occasions.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Porters and more « Daily beer project said, on December 1, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    […] According to the Deschutes website, it’s got 40 IBUs. But it tastes hoppier than that. Their Inversion IPA is 80 IBUs, and while it’s more bitter, it didn’t taste twice as bitter. Mirror Pond is […]

  2. Retrospective « Daily beer project said, on January 5, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    […] is always good and is readily available, but it doesn’t stand above the crowd in any regard. Deschutes ESB is one of the best beers I’ve had on tap, but finding it is a huge challenge–they […]


Leave a Reply

