Daily beer project

Revisiting Stella

Posted in Imports, Macrobrews by dailybeerproject on September 5, 2010

With phase 2 wrapped up and my taste in beer having evolved somewhat in the process, I decided I’d go back and revisit some beers I tried early on to see if my opinion had changed. I already did this with Sierra Nevada, and considering that’s now one of my favorites, it seems worth doing with others.

Stella Artois was a beer I tried early on, and while I didn’t dislike it, I wasn’t crazy about it either. Considering it’s one of my brother’s favorites (may still be top of his list), I decided to revisit it. Glad I did. It’s very much a European, Pilsner-style lager. Belgium is famous for it’s ales, but like most of the rest of the world, lager beer is the majority of consumption. Outside Belgium, Stella is promoted as an international brand, but domestically it’s just another lager and lags behind its sister brand Jupiler in sales. It’s owned by AB Inbev (think Budweiser), so it’s a macrobrew if ever there was one. But that doesn’t mean it isn’t good.

Coming as it does from a big brewery, it’s not surprising that it’s less-hoppy than some other Pilsners. I like the hoppier versions better, but this is still awesome. With less hops, the sourness of the malt comes through a bit more. The sourness takes some getting used to (or at least it did for me), but it has a refreshing, thirst-quenching quality that I enjoy. The downside is that it’s nearly $2 for an 11.2 ounce bottle. Considering there are other beers I like just as well for less, it probably won’t become part of the regular rotation. But certainly something I’d reach for when in the mood for an import.

Leave a Reply

