Daily beer project

Epic Galloway Porter

Posted in American Craft Beer, Epic Brewing, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on August 22, 2010

Galloway Porter was the last remaining beer from Epic (15 total) that I hadn’t sampled. With this, I round out another brewery, leaving me just a couple of beers from Desert Edge (that I’m hoping to get to this week) to complete phase 2 of this project.

I’ve been drinking a lot of Epic beer lately for reasons of sampling what they have as it becomes available, the convenience of having everything available in bottles, and the geographic proximity of their brewery to my office. Not to mention, they make good beer. But with phase 2 wrapping up, I’m looking forward to revisiting some of my Utah favorites, such as Chasing Tail, First Amendment, and Viennese. I’m also looking forward to trying more of what’s available at the state liquor store, their problems with freshness notwithstanding. In other words, finishing phase 2 is a milestone rather than a destination. Especially because I’ve found that the range of what I like has broadened, and the sweet spot of what I like best seems to have shifted.

Which brings us back to the Galloway Porter. I think of Porters as fall or cool weather beers, and I had this one at the end of a hot day. It seemed a little weird at first, but it worked in the end. The flavor was chocolaty and rich. The malt was toasty and caramel like when you toast bread to a dark brown with just the edges starting to get a hint of black. It has only the faintest of hopping to make sure that the malt stands out.

I drank it while eating Mexican food for dinner, which seemed an odd pairing at first, but it actually worked really well. The Mexican was quite spicy, and the malt of this beer seemed to contrast nicely with that, while the dark, rich flavor stood up well to the pungency of the peppers and cilantro. Which I guess makes sense since Negra Modelo, another dark beer, is my Mexican beer of choice.

As Porters go, this is a good one. Porters aren’t my favorite style, so I’ll leave the rating as good rather than awesome. People who favor dark beers should check this one out for sure.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Porters and more « Daily beer project said, on December 1, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    […] on December 1, 2010 While my London-based colleauge was in town, we went to the Bayou. He had the Galloway Porter from Epic. He mentioned it didn’t taste like a traditional English porter. Which prompted me […]


Leave a Reply

