Daily beer project

Latter-day Stout, Hopulent IPA, Maker’s Mark, & Drifter Pale Ale

Posted in American Craft Beer, Desert Edge, Epic Brewing, Not Beer, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on August 11, 2010

Another catch-up post, including a couple I tried a few weeks ago and forgot to write about, another bourbon, and one I brought home from Oregon.

Desert Edge Latter-day Stout: This is served on Nitro at the Beerhive, which, by the way, is a nice little pub for some evening refreshment. Honestly, nothing spectacular about this beer, but nothing to complain about, either. Just a good stout, served on nitro, so it has a nice, creamy head with no dissolved bubbles in the beer. Also, I love the name. Utah beer names with wordplay on mormonism never get old.

Epic Brewing Hopulent IPA: Lives up to its name, and is perhaps the hoppiest beer I’ve had. A bit too hoppy for my taste, but still good. They somehow managed to brew it with that much hops without making it taste like Pine Sol. Epic beers seem to run the gamut of hardly any hops to as much hops as anyone could possibly tolerate. How many beer drinkers enjoy that full spectrum, I wonder?

Maker’s Mark: Enjoyed some of this on the rocks before dinner at the wonderful Laurelhurst Market in Portland. Smoother and easier-drinking than Jameson’s, in my opinion, without the hefty price tag of Booker’s. Something I’ll probably keep in the house going forward.

Widmer Brothers Drifter Pale Ale: I bought a bottle of this in Oregon and just got around to drinking it last night. Glad I didn’t love it, since it’s not available locally. The interesting thing about beer styles, is that there are no clear-cut lines. Pale ales are generally medium-colored beers with a fairly generous amount of hops. Ambers tend to be similar in color to pale ales, but less hoppy. This pale ale, however, seemed hardly hopped at all and was less hoppy than a number of ambers I’ve tried, notably Full Sail and Squatter’s Emigration. I’d rate this on the low end of good–I wouldn’t turn it down if offered, but I’d certainly look at the other options if it weren’t the only beer available.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. etiberius said, on August 17, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I may have to track down Hopulent- it sounds much like a Hopsickle IPA i had the pleasure of tasting last week- very much an overt the top beer that’s good for a small glass.

  2. Seagram’s 7 « Daily beer project said, on October 1, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    […] Posted in Not Beer by dailybeerproject on October 1, 2010 I like Jameson’s, I really like Maker’s Mark. Neither costs nearly as much as Booker’s or High West (a new local distillery), but neither […]


Leave a Reply

