Daily beer project

Summer Seasonals

Posted in American Craft Beer by dailybeerproject on August 5, 2010

“Summer” is a term they use fast and loose here in the Pacific Northwest. As I write this I am sitting on the beach wearing, I shit you not, my winter coat. Despite the lack of a proper summer, folks in these parts still manage to brew some fine summer ales, one of my favorite styles.

Deschutes Twilight: Had this with fish and chips and clam chowder for dinner last night and quite enjoyed it despite the bartender’s best efforts to encourage me to ruin it by serving a lemon wedge on the rim of the glass. Good beer, but didn’t knock my socks off.

Pyramid Curveball Blonde Ale: I’m sipping this one from a 22 ounce bomber while sitting on the beach. (The WordPress for Android app is pretty cool, no?) It’s lovely and awesome. Very similar to Chasing Tail from Squatters, with a nice sweetly sour malt and a good balance of hops. I should bring some of this one home.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. etiberius said, on August 5, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    It’s time to become a super beer nerd and dive headfirst into no fruited sours…

  2. […] Cuvee Renee: This is probably the one beer I was most excited to sample, especially sinc Etiberius’s admonition in the comments that I explore true beer geekdom by sampling an unfruited Lambic. I loved it. Super […]


Leave a Reply

