Daily beer project

Is there a bad brewery in the Northwest?

Posted in American Craft Beer by dailybeerproject on August 5, 2010

I’m in Oregon this week and trying to sample as many local beers as I possibly can while here. That task is made easy since 22 ounce bombers in a wide variety are sold at the safeway of all places. But first a couple more locals I tried before I left.

Desert Edge Latter-day Stout: Had this on tap at the Beerhive. Another good, toasty stout with the malt toasted just right and a hint of hops for balance. Maybe not the best stout I’ve ever had, but good. Very good.

Epic Hopulent IPA: My journey to become a full-on hop head is maybe not complete, because this one, while good, was a bit too hoppy. At 8.6% abv, it left me feeling happy.

Rogue Dead Guy Ale: Not sure what style this was, but it was tasty. A nice amount of hops against a flavorful, roasty malt made for an awesome combination.

Widmer Brothers Amber: Less hoppy than the dead guy, but awesome from the first sip to the last. Wish this were available at home.

MacTarnahan’s Amber:  Very hoppy for an amber. More like a pale ale, but I guess that’s how they do things in Oregon. Awesome either way.

Even without the beer, Oregon is awesome. Sitting on the coast now, with nobody to share the beach with. I can see why Oregon cities are always at the top of those places rated lists.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Retrospective « Daily beer project said, on January 5, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    […] I’d want to drink it in the summer. Ninkasi Believer Double Red Ale, Deschutes Jubelale, Rogue Dead Guy Ale, and Full Sail Wassail are all among the tastiest beers I’ve ever […]


Leave a Reply

