Daily beer project

Epic 825 State Stout & The Vesper

Posted in American Craft Beer, Epic Brewing, Not Beer, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on July 27, 2010

825 State Stout: Another bottle of Epic down the hatch. And it’s a good one. Awesome, even. One of the best bottled stouts I’ve had. Malt is dark without tasting burnt, with just enough hops to balance things out. I don’t think of summer as stout season, but in this case worth making an exception.

The Vesper Martini: I realize Alex has poured a line in the sand with regard to ice and martinis. I also realize that, according to Alex and pretty much all martinophiles, vodka is not an ingredient in a martini. But the other night the wife and I were watching From Russia with Love, so I decided to mix up 007’s signature drink. Or at least the closest I could come with the ingredients I had on hand.

3 measures Gordon’s (I used Boodle’s)

1 measure vodka

1/2 measure Kina Lillet (I didn’t have Kina Lillet, so I used dry vermouth. Grand Marnier may have been a better substitute. May have tasted better, too.)

Shook it very well and poured into a frosted martini glass with a large, thin slice of lemon peel.

Let me just say that I understand why Alex says no ice and no vodka in martinis. His rationale is that if you go to the trouble of getting a good-quality gin like Boodle’s, you don’t want to dillute the flavor. But let me counter that I can see why people add ice and vodka to martinis. Because to the uninitiated, gin can taste as potent as jet fuel, and the vodka and water from the ice mellow things out just enough to keep the gin from being overwhelming.

And while I like martinis both ways–even if purists don’t consider the Vesper a true martini–I have a definite preference for the lemon peel over the olive. In the future, I’ll drink true martinis when I’m with Alex, but I’ll continue to mix Vespers when I’m watching James Bond movies.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Blackdog said, on July 28, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Saphire Gin Martini’s are very very tasty. I have not had one in probably 3 or 4 years. I like cocktail onions better than olives. There is something about good or very good gin in a martini that makes all of the difference.

  2. etiberius said, on July 28, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    You have to watch that Alex… pun


Leave a Reply

