Daily beer project

Red Rock

Posted in American Craft Beer, Red Rock, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on July 14, 2010

Rounded out the offerings at Red Rock over the weekend. We’re pretty spoiled around here to have so many good, local breweries.

Hefeweizen: Good, but not great. Didn’t really stand out as anything special, just a standard wheat beer.

Belgian Wit: Wasn’t crazy about this one. Too malty for me–felt like it coated the back of my throat as I drank it. The lone not awesome offering from Red Rock, though I’m sure plenty of people really like it.

Raspberry Wheat: Didn’t expect to like this one, but I really did. Instead of being off-putting, the fruitiness of the raspberry was pleasant and refreshing. Awesome.

IPA: Again, I’m of the opinion that it can’t be a real IPA if the abv is only 4%, but that doesn’t change the fact that this is an awesome beer. Balanced and flavorful with strong but not overpowering hops.

Dunkelweizen: Wasn’t sure what I’d think of this one, but I was pleasantly surprised. Not my favorite, but a good beer that would hold up well when paired with food.

Oatmeal Stout: Another suprise–this one was awesome. Beer served on tap is always better than bottled, but I’m convinced that the difference is more noticeable with stouts. I haven’t been too crazy about a lot of bottled stouts but have quite liked many of the local offerings on tap.

Amber Ale: This was the only one that I had a pint of rather than just a sampler. Glad I did because this one was awesome. Just what you want in an amber with medium malt and body and mild but balanced hops.

Phase two of this project is getting close to wrapping up. I need to try a few more beers from Desert Edge and sample five more from Epic (if I can get them!) and that will be it. If I try a couple seasonals that aren’t presently available, I will have sampled 100 beers made in the state of Utah. Most of them are beers I would happily have again.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug (not dug) said, on July 14, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    I say you wait till winter and then we do the Beer and Chineese food blog. An example would be General Tso’s chicken paired with PBR.


Leave a Reply

