Daily beer project

Epic Brown Rice Ale

Posted in American Craft Beer, Epic Brewing, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on June 4, 2010

Last night for dinner I grilled marinated chicken breasts and corn on the cob over charcoal, which we then sliced and put on a salad with homemade ranch dressing and a side of refried black beans and chipotle sour cream. This meal was begging for a beer to go with it. So I figured I’d have “beans and rice” and crack open the brown rice ale from Epic.

I don’t usually drink beer with meals unless we’re out at a restaurant, so my son asked me what I was drinking.

“Beer,” I told him.

“Oh. It looks like poison,” he responded.

I can assure you it was not poison. Many of the macrobrews use rice as an adjunct grain to mellow the flavor of the barley malt, so I was expecting a fairly mild beer, and it was. This beer was only lightly hopped, so the flavor of the brown rice was apparent but still subtle. It wasn’t as grainy as the Roadhouse Rye at Bohemian, nor should it be since rye has a much more distinctive flavor than rice. But it was still awesome. It’s a mild but tasty beer that goes well with food–flavorful enough that your food won’t overpower it, but not so strong to distract you from what you’re eating. An excellent choice for summer barbecues, particularly if you’re grilling chicken or fish.

Locals interested in sampling Epic beers are likely aware they’ve had trouble keeping them in stock. I stopped in yesterday and got a bottle of Pfeiferhorn Lager, but they had just sold out of Imperial Red that morning, so I’ll have to wait for the next batch. There was still some Sour Apple Saison, and they were planning to put more Cross Fever Amber in the cold case this morning.

Leave a Reply

