Daily beer project

Bud Light and a revised opinion

Posted in American Craft Beer, Macrobrews, Tracks Brewing, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on April 15, 2010

I decided it wasn’t fair to make fun of Bud Light and the people who drink it without having actually tried the stuff. And because macrobrews are at their best when one is hot and thirsty, I figured an opportune moment to have a Bud Light was last weekend right after I finished a bike race.

I would have rather had a Budweiser. The Bud Light didn’t taste bad, it just tasted like someone had poured water in some Budweiser. I’d rather have the extra 30 calories and drink a Budweiser, but that’s just me. If it’s good enough and saving 30 calories is important to you, I won’t fault you for that. I’ll give it a rating of good, because if someone offered me one, I wouldn’t turn it down. But really, if you’re someplace that has an extensive offering of beers why would you choose this one?

I raced again the next day, and the race ended at Tracks Brewing Company. They were serving beer out on the patio and offered two choices: Tracks Amber Ale and Bud Light. I opted for the Amber Ale even though I had rated it not awesome. I wanted to see if my opinion of the beer had been tainted a bit by the inept service when I tried it the first time. I think it had, because choosing the amber over the Bud Light was the right call. It’s good–I wouldn’t turn it down in the future. But I wouldn’t drive out there just to try it, either.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug (not dug) said, on April 15, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    I am dieing to try this http://epicbrewing.blogspot.com/2010/04/oil-gusher.html

    • dailybeerproject said, on April 16, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      Saw that. Drove by the new storefront on my way to work yesterday. Looking forward to opening day.

  2. SYJ said, on April 19, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    “The Bud Light didn’t taste bad, it just tasted like someone had poured water in some Budweiser” – love this line.

    If you *really* want to try water that tastes vaguely of beer, help yourself to a bud select 55 (or better yet, buy some for someone else and try a sip, that way you’re not stuck with a fridge full of that dreck).

  3. […] between this and Michelob Ultra is negligible. But the difference in taste is significant. Whereas Bud Light tastes like someone poured water in perfectly good Budweiser, and Michelob Ultra tastes like someone […]


Leave a Reply

