Daily beer project

Wasatch Bobsled Brown Ale

Posted in American Craft Beer, Utah Beer, Wasatch Beers by dailybeerproject on April 2, 2010

This one is a seasonal that’s not technically required for phase 2, but I happened to pick up a bottle last time I was at the beer store, so I figured I’d include it. After the wonderful experience I had with the Red Rock Nut Brown Ale, I was more excited about having this one.

It wasn’t knock-your-socks-off delicious like the Red Rock, but it was still a good beer. I imagine it would be better on tap, but I had it from a bottle. Incidentally, I’m not aware of anywhere that has it on tap, except perhaps the Wasatch Brewpub. It’s on the dark side, but not so dark as a porter or a stout, so it tastes more caramely than toasty. That can be a good thing, depending on your mood.

Speaking of mood, that’s another aspect of drinking beer that I’ve noticed–certain beers go better with certain moods and seasons and foods. Which I think is one of the beauties of beer. It’s nuanced enough that you may want something different when it’s hot or cold, rainy or dry. If you’re tired, one beer may be more appealing, and if you’re wound up and want to relax, another. Perhaps most telling is that there are circumstances, such as after a day of skiing or a really long bike ride, when a Budweiser or a PBR may hit the spot, even if so-called higher-quality options are available. Blackdog says Budweiser goes really well with greasy Chinese food. Who’d have thought of that (I happen to love an occasional plate of greasy Chinese food)?

Duke Ellington said about music, “if it sounds good, it is good.” The corollary for beer is that if tastes good, it is good. And the only person whose taste matters is yours. Budweiser sells a lot of beer by being consistent. PBR sells a lot of beer because it’s something similar that doesn’t say Budweiser on the can. Craft beers can be better than Budweiser, but they can also be worse.

I bring this up because a friend suggested I try Michelob Ultra. I asked him if he was serious. I asked that because I’d heard people make fun of this “beer” and that Lance A. is its pimp. But I’d never tried it. We both got a good laugh, because he was, in fact, serious. So I’m going to chase some down (maybe not a six pack) and give it a try with an open mind.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Posted in Uncategorized by dailybeerproject on May 9, 2010 If you recall, a while back I promised I was going to try Michelob Ultra. And I promised I was going to try it with an open mind. Which I did. In fact, I was open-minded […]


Leave a Reply

