Daily beer project

Kirin Light

Posted in Imports by dailybeerproject on March 26, 2010

When I did the post on Sam Adams Light, Alex gave me a bit of crap about drinking light beer, wondering if I’d also take to drinking Cosmopolitans. If you remember the ads Sam Adams used to run for its light beer, you’ll recall that it won some type of award at a German beer festival, even though there was no light beer category at said beer festival. I should have taken this as a hint that it was not a typical light beer.

The other night I took my daughter out for sushi, and continuing my practice of ordering a beer from that country when I eat ethnic food, I pondered the options. Sapporo I had tried already. The other options were Asahi Super Dry in a 20 ounce bottle and Kirin in a 20 ounce bottle. I’m in the process of trying to shave a few pounds for cycling season, so I didn’t want a 20 ounce bottle of beer with my dinner. Kirin Light was the only alternative in a 12 ounce bottle, so I figured I’d give that a try.

There was nothing not to like about it. It’s just that there wasn’t much to like, either. It was like slightly bubbly, beer-flavored water. The first few sips were fine, but towards the end of the bottle, I was asking myself what the point was. If you’re going to drink a beer, drink a beer. Otherwise drink water.

I will, however, take solace in the fact that the table next to us was having Bud Light with their sushi. I haven’t tried Bud Light, but it just has to be worse. Even if it’s the same, the fact that you’re having Bud Light with sushi still makes it worse. Yes, their necks were a bit red. Like how I’ve become a beer snob already? Yeah, me too.

BradK offered the following sound advice: “Never buy light beer. If someone gives you one, that’s OK.” Good beers are beers I probably wouldn’t buy, but that I wouldn’t turn down if offered. Awesome beers are beers I would buy and even go out of my way to obtain. Kirin Light gets a rating of good.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug (not dug) said, on March 26, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    One thing you have to try. There is something about Budweiser and Chinese food. The MSG an the Oil in concert with rice beer that is Budweiser makes for a fantastic taste. I have no idea why but it works. A friend from NYC turned me on to it and I have to say I never eat Chinese food with out a Bud. It does not work for Sushi. It has to be the deep fried Americanized food out of the white paper container. Fong’s Fine Dining on 123rd is perfect for this test.

  2. […] Posted in Uncategorized by dailybeerproject on April 15, 2010 I decided it wasn’t fair to make fun of Bud Light and the people who drink it without having actually tried the stuff. And because macrobrews are at their best when one is hot […]

  3. Kirin Ichiban « Daily beer project said, on April 21, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    […] on April 21, 2010 Went out for sushi again last night with a colleague and a client. Since the Kirin Light I had last time wasn’t all that exciting, I decided to give the full-strength Kirin Ichiban a […]

  4. […] it, it was the least objectionable beer she’d tried. I thought it was very similar to the Kirin Light, which is not surprising since both are made by Anheuser Busch. The Kirin seemed to have a bit more […]


Leave a Reply

