Daily beer project

Squatters Organic Amber & Uinta Hefeweizen

Posted in American Craft Beer, Squatters, Uinta Brewing, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on March 17, 2010

With phase two well underway, I’m drinking faster than I’m writing. So I have some catch up to do. The first beer I’ll do is the last beer in the Squatters rotation: Organic Amber Ale. All things considered, this is an awesome beer. It’s 100% organic. They don’t charge a premium for it. And it tastes good. It’s not the best amber I’ve had (Fat Tire gets that distinction). It’s not even the best local amber I’ve had (Dead Horse gets that distinction). But it’s still awesome. And it’s readily available in bottles in pretty much every grocery store as well as the Beer Store. What’s not to like about that?

Last weekend, I also sampled the Hefeweizen from Uinta. I’m not a huge fan of Uinta’s other beers that I’ve tried. I’m also not a huge fan of hefeweizens. Yet this one bucks the trend in both regards, because it’s also awesome. In fact, it’s one of the best hefeweizens I’ve had. It’s not boring or bland–it’s just got a nice, balanced flavor. A very pleasant surprise indeed, considering when I ordered it my intent was just to cross it off the list.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] the malt was smooth, everything just came together for a nice, delicious beer. After this and the Golden Spike Hefeweizen, I’m gaining more and more confidence in Uinta as a brewery. I just don’t get why […]

  2. […] beer, but not my first choice when other options are available. And considering Uinta IPA and Hefeweizen are both available on tap at the brewery pub, I don’t see any reason to order the Hive again. […]

  3. […] However, given the choice between this and some of Uinta’s other offerings, notably their Hefeweizen and IPA, as well as WYLD and RYPE from their Four+ label, I would probably choose the others. But […]

  4. […] as they can be a bit bland without it. Consequently, I wasn’t as happy with this as say the Uinta Hefeweizen. While honey wheat makes for a nice name that provokes thoughts of sweet, fresh-baked bread, […]

  5. Three from Four+ « Daily beer project said, on August 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    […] since backed off from that position. Based on the quality of these three beers as well as their hefeweizen and IPA, I’d say their overall lineup is on par with the other locals. It’s nice to […]


Leave a Reply

