Daily beer project

Roosters

Posted in American Craft Beer, Roosters, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on March 17, 2010

The nice thing about having a friend that works near Roosters is having someone to meet at the brewpub. The nice thing about drinking at the brewpub is samplers. Roosters has six year-round beers plus two seasonals, and while, according to my self-imposed rules of the project, I only needed to try the year-round offerings, they have a paddle that carries up to eight samples, so that’s what we both ordered.

I’d already tried the Heavenly Cream Ale, but since it’s awesome, I included it among my samples. It’s still awesome. In addition to the Heavenly Cream, here’s what I think of the other beers:

  • Honey Wheat: A decent wheat beer. Not bad for the category, but I’m not crazy about the category. Rating: good.
  • Polygamy Pale Ale: Described by the brewery as aromatic and bitter. I don’t disagree. Unfortunately a tad too hoppy for my taste. Falls short of awesome, but it’s good.
  • Diamondback Ale: I’m not sure how a copper ale differs from an amber ale, but Roosters offers both, so apparently there’s a difference. Nothing spectacular about this beer, but nothing not to like either. Rating: good.
  • Two-Bit Amber: A lot like Evolution Amber–nothing distinctive about this beer. I wouldn’t drive all the way to Roosters for it, but it’s still good.
  • Junction City Chocolate Stout: I’m not a huge fan of stouts unless they’re really good. And this one is really good. In fact, it’s awesome. Porcupine keeps it on tap. I can see why.
  • Lay’n Lager: This seasonal is a nice, sour lager that’s distinctive without being unpleasant. As lagers go, it’s on par with Bohemian’s Czech pilsner, but I’d say a step behind Wasatch’s First Amendment. I expect it’ll stay a seasonal, but it’s good.
  • Irish Stout: A seasonal for St. Patrick’s day, or at least I presume so. I had it a day early. Roosters seems to have a way with stouts, as this was quite tasty. The bubbles in the head were inconsistent in size, with some being quite large. The foam was also dark, darker than Guiness and similar to Captain Bastard’s. The flavor of the beer was smoky and bold and bitter and pleasant and awesome. So good that in honor of St. Patrick’s day, I followed the sample with a pint.

My overall take on Roosters? Awesome name, good beer. Not quite as good as Squatters or Bohemian, but better than Uinta and way, way better than Tracks. I don’t get up that way too often, but it’s good to have options if I am.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] really like stouts (the deliciousness of Guiness on tap notwithstanding). Then I went to Rooster’s and changed my mind. Then I sampled this and changed my mind even more. So what I think it comes […]

  2. Layton said, on March 22, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Nice review. I liked everything that we sampled at Roosters and I’m looking forward to trying out some more local brews on tap. I have to agree that the Irish Stout and the Chocolate Stout were awsome beers. I liked the stouts from Roosters so much that I decided to treat myself to a Guiness later that night–just not the same in a bottle.

    • dailybeerproject said, on March 24, 2010 at 11:05 pm

      Lemme know when you want to get $2 drafts at Porcupine. We could also hit Red Rock or Hoppers or Desert Edge for dinner and do samplers and dinner.


Leave a Reply

