Daily beer project

Whiskey

Posted in Not Beer by dailybeerproject on March 4, 2010

[etiberius corrected my nomenclature, so I’m updating the post accordingly. Sincere apologies for my ignorance.]

Some things taste better than they smell (can I get an amen here?). Other things smell better than they taste. Whiskey is most definitely in the smells better than it tastes camp.

While I was out of town, I picked up a couple mini bottles (we can’t get mini bottles where I live) of whiskey with the intention of doing a back-to-back taste test. One bottle was Jack Daniels, the other some Canadian brand I don’t remember but that was cheaper.

I poured each bottle into a glass over ice. I tried the Jack Daniels first. The initial taste was reasonably pleasant, but the aftertaste was like gasoline. So I had a sip of whatever the hell the other was. The initial taste was less pleasant, and the aftertaste was like higher-octane gasoline.

I will not be doing a daily whiskey project.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. etiberius said, on March 4, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Oh no Danger! Danger! Danger!

    That wasn’t bourbon. Bourbon is from Kentucky and isn’t charcoal filtered.

    For a nice easy sipping bourbon I highly recommend Buffalo Trace.

    Jack is always going to be a little rough a burny.

    • dailybeerproject said, on March 4, 2010 at 8:03 pm

      Thanks for commenting. I know bourbon is something you’re passionate about, so I expected to hear from you. Thanks for correcting me as well. I know next to nothing about the stuff, so I’ll have to read up on what’s what in the whiskey world.

  2. dug said, on March 4, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    i’ve heard Bookers is smooth. just something i heard.

  3. Alex/Watcher said, on March 5, 2010 at 4:39 am

    I’ve never acquired a taste for whiskey. But gin or tequlia would both make excellent tastes test subjects.

    • dailybeerproject said, on March 5, 2010 at 8:04 pm

      I had an easier time with the microtini than I did with the whiskey. I’ve considered buying a bottle of gin and seeing if I acquire a taste for it.

  4. SYJ said, on March 5, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    Before you give up on Whiskey as a whole, try an Irish. Jameson’s is the usual entry level, although Midleton’s Very Rare is absolutely wonderful (if you can find it). The older Bushmill single malts are also nice.

    I’ve found that Irish usually has a lighter, sweeter, less volatile flavor than Bourbons/American Whiskeys (and are far less smoky and complex than Scotch).

    • dailybeerproject said, on March 5, 2010 at 8:03 pm

      Thanks for the suggestion. Next time I’m out at a place that serves Jameson’s, I’ll give it a go.

  5. […] to drink. And in order to keep the night from being a total waste, I thought I’d follow SYJ’s advice from my whiskey post and try Jameson’s. Since I hadn’t finished my beer, I’m pretty sure the waitress […]

  6. Kt said, on December 8, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    If you are ever in the Portland, OR area, head down to Oregon City to the Highland Stillhouse. They have an amazing selection of whiskeys, and can help guide you in your selection.

    There’s also an amazing liquor store near the downtown Bike Gallery (store, not museum) with amazing people who can help you pick good entry level whiskeys.

    I don’t really enjoy whiskey– the only one I’ve found that’s ok for me is Dalwhinny. Or Eradour, that ones ok too.


Leave a Reply

