Daily beer project

Two Buck Chuck

Posted in Not Beer by dailybeerproject on March 3, 2010

Trader Joe’s is a popular and well-known health food store on the West coast. But it’s at least as popular for its wine as for any of its other offerings. And the wine for which it’s perhaps most famous is Charles Shaw, affectionately known as “two buck chuck” because of its exceptionally low price of $2.99 a bottle.

I’ve had $4 a bottle wine and thought I was going to gag. I’ve had $6 a bottle wine and only barely been able to swallow it. I’ve also had $15 or $20 a bottle wine that was so good I wondered if I could ever get myself to pay more than that.

The Charles Shaw shiraz we had last night drinks like a $15 or $20 a bottle wine. It’s amazing stuff. Fruity and full-bodied, without the off taste that you usually have to try and ignore in a cheap wine. Fred Franzia, the owner of Charles Shaw’s parent company, doesn’t see why people would pay $35 a bottle for wine. After tasting Charles Shaw, I don’t either.

We bought a case of it to bring home, and my only regret is that we didn’t buy more.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. etiberius said, on March 4, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    I’ve had the Charles Shaw before and didn’t think much of it. I just don’t get as snooty with my wine as I do my beer. As embarrassing as this is I will admit to mainly drinking Oak Leaf or Winking Owl wines b/c they set me back $3 a bottle.

  2. Blackdog said, on March 24, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Careful with the Red’s. I had a bottle of carborator cleaner they advertised as Merlot. Honestly it was toxic. The whites are better than the red’s from my limited experience. I have given up on wine except for a Zinfandel called 7 deadly Zinz. That stuff is amazing. $12 at the local store.

    • dailybeerproject said, on March 24, 2010 at 11:02 pm

      I’ll try that 7 deadly. I used to work with a vintner. His house wine was called “Original Zin.” For a lapsed mormon, both are appropriate names.


Leave a Reply

