Daily beer project

Taste test

Posted in American Craft Beer, Squatters, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on March 3, 2010

The strange irony when comparing beer versus soda is that the hierarchies of dispensing methods are reversed. With soda, canned beverages are best, followed by bottled, with fountain (which I guess is the equivalent of on tap) being the lowest quality. With beer, the opposite is the case. Beer served on tap is best, followed by bottles, then cans*.

*I don’t think there’s a real difference in bottled versus canned beer, there’s just a perception of a difference because beers only available in cans are often of lower quality than beers only available in bottles. The canned version of a beer also available in bottles may in fact be better, because it can’t become light affected (skunked). Perhaps I should do a back-to-back taste test of the same beer out of a bottle and a can. Just for the sake of science, of course.

Anyway, the point of the preceding is to explain that as much as I liked Fat Tire on tap, I didn’t expect the bottled version to be its equal. I was, however, worried that I’d like bottled Fat Tire so well that I wouldn’t be as content with my locally-available favorites, so last night I did a taste test where I sampled Fat Tire and Chasing Tail at the same time.

The winner? Chasing Tail. And what a relief that was. Chasing Tail didn’t blow Fat Tire out of the water by any means. Both are delicious and awesome beers. It’s just nice to know that I won’t have the perpetual disappointment of not being able to get my favorite beer locally.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. etiberius said, on March 4, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    I agree the hierarchy reversal is pretty curious.
    I’ve had several craft beers from cans that were really very good, and apparently the container science has come to a point where the container material is not much of an issue. I had canned Surly Furious and it is one my my Top 10 beers right now.

    That said I would never drink beer directly out of a can or bottle if I could avoid it.
    Beer is meant to be consumed from a glass ( stylistically appropriate of course) if in doubt a pint glass.


Leave a Reply

