Daily beer project

Orval

Posted in Imports by dailybeerproject on February 23, 2010

According to BradK, Orval is a beer to savor. He recommended I sip it slowly, like wine, over 20 minutes or more. I think it took 10 minutes for the head to subside–that stuff is foamy. And delicious.

I don’t know why it is that the higher-alcohol beers seem to taste bitter to me, but the Belgians do not. The Belgians are not bitter at all. Just yummy. As well they should be. At $4.65 a bottle, Orval is on par with wine in terms of cost. So the question is, since it costs two or three times as much as most other beers, is it three times as good? It depends. Depends on what you’re in the mood for. Orval is a good celebration or special occasion beer, but I can’t afford to drink it every day. I wish I could though.

I also got some feedback that I should rate my beers in one of three categories: awesome; good; and not-awesome. So henceforth, I will. Orval is awesome.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. etiberius said, on February 24, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    If only we could all drink Orval everyday. Life would be good. That is one of the few high grav beers available where i live b/c of some goofy container restriction laws.

    When you get a chance you should try Ommegang’s Tree Philosophers

    • dailybeerproject said, on February 24, 2010 at 6:31 pm

      Glad to here that I’m not the only one that lives someplace with strange liquor laws. Unfortunately, Ommegang’s Tree Philosophers isn’t available where I live, so I’ll have to try and find it next time I’m out of state.

  2. SYJ said, on February 24, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    I’m still mystified by the bitterness detection/alcohol correlation, but am impressed by your thoroughness and willingness to try new things. A few others that you may want to try, just to broaden your horizons if nothing else, are any of the Chimay varieties (Belgian Trappist beers); Samichlaus – brewed one day a year, and based upon a recipe and yeast strain developed by German monks, and finally Unibroue Terrible.

    Like Orvel, all of the above are sipping beers to one degree or another – Definitely not daily drinkers, and frankly a bit bold for some tastes. The first two are almost more barley wine than beer, the latter more of a bold, complicated beer flavor. All have a hefty alcohol content, but are otherwise a far cry from the majority of your test subjects – might make for an interesting bed to test your alcohol=bitterness theory. That said, I enjoy all three tremendously.


Leave a Reply

