Daily beer project

Moretti

Posted in Imports by dailybeerproject on February 17, 2010

There’s something about eating ethnic food and drinking a beer from that country. Just as Negra Modelo was fantastic with Mexican, so too was Moretti well-paired with the olives, breadsticks, meatball, and wood-fired pizza I had at a business dinner this evening. I don’t know how well I’d like a Moretti by itself (I probably would, just don’t know to what extent), but in that context, it was excellent. It didn’t hurt that the company was nice too–I’m fortunate to work with a group of people I enjoy spending time with, and there were four of us with one client, who is also an agreeable guy.

Anyway, I chose the Moretti because I was inspired by Mike’s comment about a beer passport and figured I may as well sample an Italian beer since I had the opportunity. It was the right decision. It was a well-balanced beer that neither stood out for being malted nor hoppy, just pleasant without being boring. And I seem to fall for any beer that’s balanced but not boring. The other thing that’s great about Moretti is the label–it features a picture of your stereotypical wiseguy, dark suit, fedora, mug of beer in his hand. The picture alone had me feeling like a made man.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Peroni « Daily beer project said, on August 22, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    […] of kitschy photos and posters on the walls, “celebrating” Italian culture, including a Moretti poster. Ironically, there was no Moretti on the menu. In fact, the beer menu was pretty […]


Leave a Reply

