Daily beer project

Beer #28: Pabst Blue Ribbon

Posted in Macrobrews by dailybeerproject on February 15, 2010

I drank a double can of PBR sitting in a camp chair on a sunny day in the parking lot of a ski resort. It was awesome. The beer itself was not awesome. In fact, it was kind of flat and boring. But sitting there and drinking a beer in the parking lot was awesome, and PBR just seemed like an appropriate beer for the circumstances. Which is not to say other beers wouldn’t be better. I just don’t think there’s a bad beer for that situation. OK, I’m sure there is, but you get my point.

PBR itself is more of what I’ve come to expect from adjunct beers. Not long on flavor and not too filling. It’s the type of beer you could drink a lot of, and that’s what their business model is based on. Compared to the other adjunct beers I’ve tried, PBR is as good as any of them, and drinking it straight from the can was even kind of fun and seemed fitting. It’s not a beer I’d seek out–I’m a quality over quantity type of guy–but if someone offered me one, I certainly wouldn’t turn it down.

Summary thoughts: when I started the project, I figured the proof of its success was whether or not I enjoyed the Budweiser. But really, what’s the difference between Budweiser and PBR? The exercise of finding out will be purely academic.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] in Uncategorized by dailybeerproject on March 18, 2010 I’ve tried Coors. I’ve tried PBR. I’ve tried Budweiser. Figured I may as well round out the big macrobrews by sampling […]


Leave a Reply

