Daily beer project

Beer #26: Heineken

Posted in Imports, Macrobrews by dailybeerproject on February 8, 2010

I spent the majority of the summer after I graduated from high school working and saving money so that I could spend the last part of the summer backpacking through Europe before starting college. One of the first cities I visited was Amsterdam, and many of the other backpackers we ran into (most of whom were a few years into college) were talking about the Heineken brewery tour. The Van Gogh museum and other cultural attractions of the city seemed nowhere near as important.

Since I was 18 at the time, it didn’t occur to me to even go there. It also didn’t occur to me that the legal drinking age may have been lower there than at home and that I even could have gone. But I did know from the one or two times I tried beer in high school that I couldn’t stand it, so there was no interest whether I was legal or not.

If I were to go to Amsterdam today, I may go on the brewery tour, but it would be because I have a geeky fascination with factories that I didn’t have at age 18. It wouldn’t be because I wanted to sample Heineken. It tasted kind of bland, like other macrobrews, but with a sourness vaguely similar to the Duvel only unpleasant. And it never became pleasant. Which was a bummer, because I had the 24 ounce “keg can,” which was more Heineken than I really wanted to drink. I also would have preferred drinking something more enjoyable since I had it during the second half of the Super Bowl, and the game didn’t turn out how I wanted it to. The drink and the outcome were not a pleasant combination.

Summary thoughts: hard to believe there are only four beers left in the project. Unfortunately, having beer every single day for the last 26 days has taken its toll, and I’m going to put the project on the shelf for a few days and finish this weekend. I feel kind of bloated after so many consecutive days of drinking beer, and if you add to that all the food I ate during the game yesterday, I just feel kind of icky. I now enjoy beer, but I want to keep it enjoyable, and some nights I feel like I’m drinking it because I have to.

Leave a Reply

