Daily beer project

Beer #22: Samuel Adams Light

Posted in American Craft Beer by dailybeerproject on February 4, 2010

Why did I wait so long to try a light beer? Or rather, why did I wait so long to try this light beer? One of my favorite bottled beers that I’ve tried. Looking at the nutritional data, this beer is 119 calories a bottle. From what I’ve heard about how awful Michelob Ultra and other low-calorie beers are, if you’re looking to shave calories from your beer drinking experience, I don’t know why you’d not just drink this and take the stairs to offset the incremental 24 calories. I thought this beer was really smooth without being bland or dull.

I didn’t look at the reviews on Beer Advocate before trying this, but after the fact, they seem to reinforce my impression. Reviews are favorable, with may people saying it didn’t seem like a light beer. Perhaps I should try another light beer for comparison sake to see what a light beer is “supposed” to taste like.

The color is a bit darker than most other lagers I’ve tried–similar to a pale ale. It’s got a full, pleasant flavor. It’s not particularly hoppy, nor is it bitter in the least. It’s like a less-hoppy version of the Bohemian Viennese Lager. Both are beers I look forward to having again.

Summary thoughts: This is a beer I’d like to keep in the fridge. Perfect beer to sip while watching a ballgame or a movie. Tastes great out of a bottle, and being lower in calories, is one I’d be happy about drinking more than one at a time. Though I didn’t have it with food, seems like it would go well with burgers or tacos or pizza. And really, what more do you need if you have something good to drink and burgers or tacos or pizza?

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alex/Watcher said, on February 4, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Man, you didn’t like Spaten, you didn’t like Sierra Nevada, and now you like *lite* beers?? Sheesh! What are we going to drink together?

    Seriously, I haven’t had the Sam Adams Light, but I enjoy the lager. It’s a typical beer for me when I’m visiting back East.

  2. dailybeerproject said, on February 4, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    Let’s see, I liked full suspension, I liked polygamy porter, I’ve liked everything I’ve had on tap so far. I think there are plenty of options.

    I tried the Sam Adams lager early in the project (#2) and liked it well enough then. Would like to try again just to compare. But I’ll buy you a bottle of the light, because it really is quite good. I would never have guessed I was drinking a light beer.

  3. Beer #25: Duvel « Daily beer project said, on February 7, 2010 at 5:16 am

    […] today ended up being a bonus day since my wife and I went out for Mexican tonight. Alex/Watcher gave me a bit of crap in the comments about how I don’t like any of the beers he recommends. Well he also recommended Negra Modelo, […]

  4. Kirin Light « Daily beer project said, on March 26, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    […] Posted in Uncategorized by dailybeerproject on March 26, 2010 When I did the post on Sam Adams Light, Alex gave me a bit of crap about drinking light beer, wondering if I’d also take to drinking […]

  5. […] in one day, I’d rather drink half as many of something with a little more to it. Or have a Sam Adams Light, which is only 25 calories more but double the flavor. But if you prefer easy-drinking lagers and […]

  6. […] the exception of Sam Adams Light, which is frankly more of an in-between beer than a true “light” beer, I haven’t […]

  7. […] The low alcohol content also keeps the calorie content down, so Amstel Light has all of 95 calories per bottle. Michelob Ultra positions itself as a beer for the active, health-conscious crowd, but if I’m limiting myself to 95 calories, I’ll choose the Amstel Light 100% of the time. And while my beer-drinking philosophy is that I’d rather drinking fewer good beers than a few more that are lacking in flavor, I still might be curious enough to do back-to-back taste tests with Amstel Light, Coors Light, and Sam Adams Light. […]


Leave a Reply

