Daily beer project

Beer #16: Squatters Nitro Cream Ale

Posted in American Craft Beer, Squatters, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on January 29, 2010

After tonight, I’m more confident that the bitterness is coming from alcohol and not from hops or CO2. The Nitro Cream Ale is a 4% abv beer served on tap. It’s called Nitro because it’s forced out of the keg with nitrogen rather than CO2. Beyond that I can’t really tell you much about the technical differences between nitro and other beers.

The head was really foamy and the bubbles in the head were really tiny. The head lasted a long time, but the beer itself was not particularly bubbly. I’d read before I went that nitrogen doesn’t actually dissolve in beer, so it produces a nice head while leaving the beer itself almost flat. My observations were consistent with that, but I didn’t consider it a drawback in any way.

The beer itself I quite liked. In fact, it was one of my favorites. I seem to be preferring the light/golden/blonde ales above everything else. It’s also nice that the local beers have been what I’ve enjoyed most. Interesting that three of my favorites have all come from the same brewery. And incredibly convenient that that brewery is just a few blocks from where I work. I’d be perfectly happy meeting friends there for a beer, but I’ll also admit that sitting down alone with a magazine and a beer was a really nice way to unwind after work. I don’t usually come home from work in the best of moods, but today I did.

I think the biggest benefit of this project has been the no repeats rule. I’m discovering over time what I do and don’t like in a beer and can hopefully order intelligently based on that information. They haven’t all been winners, but I’ve found a few and drinking those few makes me happy.

Summary thoughts: if ever there’s a movement to change our local liquor laws and allow stronger than 4% abv beer to be served on tap, I won’t support it. I’m such a lightweight that I don’t mind the weaker beer, and for whatever reason it doesn’t taste as bitter to me. That being said, I’ll be traveling the end of next month and will be sure to try something on tap while I’m on the road. For the sake of science, of course.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bradk said, on January 29, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I thought it was tonight you were going to be at Squatters, doh! I think I will still stop by for a beer anyway.

    Many years ago I too preferred the local beers on tap, not so much anymore. You will out grow them as your beer palate matures and you discover the really good belgians, besides the belgian white have you had a belgian?

    May I recommend a Duvel or Delirium Tremens or Orval.

  2. Brenna Churches said, on January 31, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Interesting, i’ve learned something new today.

  3. gregclimbs said, on January 19, 2011 at 8:01 am

    sorry, yes, I am working my way through your blog :O

    FYI, nitro taps, aren’t 100% nitro. usually, it is “beer gas” or 70% nitro, 30% CO2.

    Not completely eliminationg CO2 from your parameters.


Leave a Reply

