Daily beer project

Beer #13: Wasatch Apricot Hefeweizen

Posted in American Craft Beer, Utah Beer, Wasatch Beers by dailybeerproject on January 26, 2010

Hefeweizen is kind of like the white bread of beer. There’s not much to dislike, but there’s not much to get excited about either. If Hefeweizen is white bread, then apricot hefeweizen is white bread and jam. The fruitiness of the apricot just added an extra dimension of flavor.

That being said, it felt kind of like riding a moped. Riding a moped is fun until someone sees you on it. I couldn’t get over the feeling that what I was drinking was the beer equivalent of a cosmopolitan. I wouldn’t be confident buying this beer and drinking it in front of friends. I may accept one if offered, but only if it were just the two of us, he opened his first, and I were otherwise certain it were not a trap.

It’s still a tasty beer, though. Can’t help but think this was sort of like mixing hefeweizen and lemonade–the fruitiness was a nice complement and added another dimension to the experience.

Obviously this was beer #1 in my local beer lineup. The next five will be (not necessarily in order):

  1. Polygamy Porter
  2. Wasatch Winterfest Ale
  3. Wasatch Belgian White Ale
  4. Squatters Nitro Cream Ale (only available on tap, so I’ll have this at the brewpub)
  5. Squatters IPA

I also have Full Suspension and Chasing Tail in bottles, but I’m not counting them in the lineup because I’ve already tried them on tap (OK, I also had a Chasing Tail today, and it was just as good from the bottle as on tap), and I’m trying for 30 beers with no repeats (plus I get more beer that way, even if it violates my one per day, no more no less rule). I mentioned that I’d like to try something from Uinta Brewery as well, which I’d still like to get to, but the Wasatch and Squatters beers are sold directly from their brewing cooperative in singles, so it was really easy to mix and match. Perhaps I’ll do more local or at least regional beers for my next six and work Uinta in then.

Summary thoughts: so far I’ve preferred the local beers to the non-locals, both domestic and imported. I don’t know the reason for this. It could be because they’re fresher. Or, it could be because of the lower alcohol content. They’re 3.2% alcohol by weight or 4% alcohol by volume. It’s possible that there’s something in the alcohol in beer that’s causing the bitterness sensitivity. I don’t notice it in fruit-based beverages like hard cider or wine with up to 15% abv, but I’ve noticed the bitterness less in the local beers I’ve had than in the non-local varieties.

The Winterfest and IPA are both higher alcohol local beers, so when I try them, it will hopefully help me better identify where the bitterness I’m tasting is coming from. If it turns out that 4% abv is my limit for bitterness, I’d probably be the only beer drinker in the world who’s happy with our wacky local liquor laws and the low potency of the stuff available on tap and at grocery stores.

Leave a Reply

