Daily beer project

Beer #12: Sapporo

Posted in Imports, Macrobrews by dailybeerproject on January 25, 2010

I bought Sapporo in the large, 22 ounce can. I was anxious to try beer from a can primarily to try to help sort out my bitterness sensitivity. I wondered if I was hyper-sensitive to light-struck beer.

The short answer is that I still don’t know, but the Sapporo tasted significantly less bitter and more enjoyable than the Becks, Stella, or other lagers I’ve tried so far (worth noting is that all but the Sam Adams lager were in green bottles). I wouldn’t say it’s been one of my favorites, though. I liked it well enough that if I were out for sushi, and Sapporo were readily available, I may order one, but I’m not sure I’d seek it out otherwise.

One thing I did try was salting versus not salting the Sapporo. I put a tiny bit of salt in the beer in my glass but left what was in the can unsalted and tried them back-to-back. The salted beer was every-so-slightly less bitter, but since neither was particularly bitter I wouldn’t say it was a big deal either way. I may try this again as I go, particularly if a particular beer is unpleasantly bitter.

Summary thoughts: the bitterness puzzle is a challenging one. I shouldn’t like some of the beers I like, and I should like some of the beers I don’t if the bitterness in hops is the driving factor. I’m convinced it’s not, but what is causing me to taste bitterness remains a mystery. The ideal solution would be to just not be sensitive to the bitterness anymore–if that’s the result of this project, I’d be pleased.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bradk said, on January 27, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I suspect by the end of your project you will have fully embraced the bitterness.

  2. […] did, however, give me hope that I’ll come to embrace the bitterness, as BradK suggested, because while it was bitter, I didn’t dislike it. It wasn’t nearly as pleasant as a […]

  3. Kirin Light « Daily beer project said, on March 26, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    […] my practice of ordering a beer from that country when I eat ethnic food, I pondered the options. Sapporo I had tried already. The other options were Asahi Super Dry in a 20 ounce bottle and Kirin in a 20 […]

  4. Kirin Ichiban « Daily beer project said, on April 21, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    […] sake of science, it’s important to know which beer goes best. So I also ordered a bottle of Sapporo. Sapporo wins. Next time out, I’ll do a back-to-back shootout between Sapporo and Asahi Super […]

  5. […] was certainly the case. I wasn’t accustomed to the flavors and found much of it overwhelming. BradK predicted I would come to embrace the bitterness, and he was right. I’ve come to appreciate beer and […]


Leave a Reply

