Daily beer project

Beer #9: Spaten Optimator

Posted in Imports by dailybeerproject on January 22, 2010

Spaten Optimator was a beer that Alex/Watcher recommended. He also recommended Full Suspension, which I liked, so I fully expected or at least hoped to like Spaten Optimator. The hefeweizens I’ve tried so far have been easy to drink, if a bit bland at times. But they haven’t been bitter at all. I was hoping for something smooth like hefeweizen but with fuller flavor.

I guess that’s what I got, but the additional flavor was mostly bitterness. On the upside, it comes in a half liter bottle, which, at 7% alcohol, makes you feel like you’ve had a real beer when all is said and done. It definitely got better as I went. Or I at least enjoyed it more as I went, even if it never tasted much if any better.

Summary thoughts: I’m not too discouraged about not liking Spaten Optimator. It was bitter, but I know when the project started I wouldn’t have even been able to finish it. I still have some degree of hope that this bitterness sensitivity will go away. I can at least work my way through a beer I don’t like, and I’m hoping by the end that I’ve found enough beers I like that I’ll always have an option or two. Maybe at some point I’ll like a majority rather than a minority, but we’ll see.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nicolas Dade said, on January 23, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    In my numerous experiences Herr gardening-tool Optimator is bitter until the bottom of the bottle is reached. There at the bottom is a sort of caramel accumulation which sweetens the last sip. It’s like a dessert at the end of the meal.

    Maybe you drank from a glass and missed out on that.

  2. […] like darker beers over time. You’ll know I’ve come full circle when I’m drinking Spaten Optimator for […]

  3. […] by German monks to drink on days when they were fasting (makes fasting sound awesome, right?). I tried this very early in the project and didn’t care much for it then. I liked it a lot better this time […]

  4. […] this is a traditional light lager, the flagship beer of Germany’s Spaten brewery. I tried Spaten Optimator early on in the project and was pretty overwhelmed by how strong it was. I need to revisit that one, […]

  5. […] this is a traditional light lager, the flagship beer of Germany’s Spaten brewery. I tried Spaten Optimator early on in the project and was pretty overwhelmed by how strong it was. I need to revisit that one, […]


Leave a Reply

