Daily beer project

Beer(s) #8: Hoegaarden Belgian White and Stella Artois

Posted in Imports, Macrobrews by dailybeerproject on January 21, 2010

Today was a two beer day. I would use the excuse that I set a schedule and didn’t like deviating from it even if it was more or less planned–and that packing the 30 day project into five six packs seemed a nice, clean way to go about things–but the reality was that one beer simply wasn’t enough tonight. Unless you’re an only child, you understand why, and that’s all I’ll say.

BradK said about the Hoegaarden Belgian White “It will turn anyone into a beer lover in just one swig.” And while I can’t say that’s necessarily the case, I will say that it’s a good, easy-to-drink beer and perhaps the best bottled beer I’ve had so far. Perhaps. I’ll admit that they’re starting to blend together a bit and it’s hard to make direct comparisons without tasting them back-to-back or at least closer together. I did enjoy it, though. A lot. I would buy it again for sure. It’s smooth and spicy, a nice, interesting combination, with a pleasant finish.

Stella Artois was recommended by Kathrin but also happens to be my brother’s favorite beer at the moment (he switches at least monthly). It was good but not great. It’s smooth, but I thought it had a slightly bitter finish (supertaster acting up again). Nevertheless it had a refreshing flavor, and if I’m ever watching football or a movie with my brother and he offers me some, I will gladly accept it.

Summary thoughts: I’m not quite a third of the way through the project, and I’d say it’s going about how I expected or dare I say hoped. I can drink beer with no problem and in some cases enjoy it. (I found myself thinking about Chasing Tail not a little bit today.) Perhaps the most telling thing is that if someone else were drinking wine, I wouldn’t necessarily want to trade. That would not have been the case when this started.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. etiberius said, on January 21, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Hmm- You may be on to something with the super taster thing. I find White beers to be a little bland- but then again I like IPAs that have enough IBUs to strip paint…

    My experience with Stella has been iffy- sometimes good and sometimes bad- but I think it is a similarity with all green/clear bottled beers that leave a large chance for oxidization via sunlight.

  2. Douglas said, on January 21, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I think about Chasing Tail every day….my wife on the other hand frowns at the idea.

  3. […] darker beers can exacerbate the bitterness, the alcohol is what’s most unpleasant. I’ve never noticed much if any bitterness in any of the other white beers I’ve had until this one. All the other white beers, though, […]

  4. Kirin Ichiban « Daily beer project said, on April 21, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    […] know what other imports are brewed by Anheuser Busch? Bass, Becks, Czechvar, Hoegaarden, Leffe, and Stella Artois. Not only that, but MillerCoors is behind Aguila, Cristal, Cusquena, […]

  5. Revisiting Stella « Daily beer project said, on September 5, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    […] Artois was a beer I tried early on, and while I didn’t dislike it, I wasn’t crazy about it either. Considering it’s […]


Leave a Reply

