Daily beer project

Beer(s) #7: Chasing Tail Golden Ale (among others)

Posted in American Craft Beer, Squatters, Utah Beer by dailybeerproject on January 20, 2010

Things worked out today that I had a bit of time after work to head over to Squatters, a local brewpub, which means that the lineup I announced yesterday will get pushed back by a day. One of the cool things about Squatters is that they offer a beer sampler–small, sample size glasses of six of their beers: American Wheat Hefeweizen, Chasing Tail Golden Ale, Provo Girl Pilsner, Vienna Lager, Full Suspension Pale Ale, and their seasonal stout (usually it’s Captain Bastard’s Oatmeal Stout, but they were out of that, and I don’t recall what the seasonal stout they substituted was).

Even though to this point the lagers have been the varieties I’ve enjoyed most, in this case I liked them least. Both were, for my taste at least, a bit too sour with a strong bitter aftertaste, the Provo Girl being especially sour.

The other four beers ranged from quite pleasant to downright delicious. The hefeweizen was more compelling than the Henry Weinhard’s hef I tried earlier. Still easy to drink–Hefeweizen is as mild as Diet Coke–but with enough to it to be memorable. The stout was bitter, but not unpleasantly so. It had rich, deep flavors with hints of chocolate and coffee that were quite delightful. I could order a pint of that and have it for a meal. But I couldn’t drink more than one.

The Full Suspension pale ale and Chasing Tail golden ale were my two favorites, though. The Full Suspension was more complex, while the Chasing Tail was smooth and easy-to-drink without being boring. After finishing the sampler, I ordered another Chasing Tail, and it was without question the beer I’ve enjoyed most throughout this project.

In fact, it was the first beer I thoroughly enjoyed with no qualifications. It still had hints of bitter aftertaste from time to time, but they weren’t unpleasant. It was just smooth, refreshing, and easy-to-enjoy. It’s described as a summer ale, and even though it’s January, I could easily imagine knocking one back on a hot summer day. As an added bonus, it’s readily available in bottles in almost every grocery store, and I’ve been told it’s even available in cans–ideal for camping.

Summary thoughts: I look forward to trying Chasing Tail in bottles. As much as I enjoyed it on tap, I am wondering whether I’ll like it as well from a bottle. Regardless, it’s all over the place on tap, so I’ve got at least one go-to beer when occasions arise.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alex/Watcher said, on January 20, 2010 at 4:41 am

    Cool to see you are finding a couple of “winners”. I am loving this project.

    You know what the follow-on is, don’t you? The same project… in Europe. Now that would be an adventure.

    • dailybeerproject said, on January 20, 2010 at 5:01 am

      Same project but in Europe would be a lot of fun. In Europe I’d have to do three projects, though, wine, cheese, and beer. Chocolate, coffee, sausage, and bread could also be variations on the theme.

  2. brkeyes7 said, on January 20, 2010 at 6:22 am

    I think after you have one stout the next one wouldn’t be any problem at all. That reminds me of a theme that I’ve noticed here as well as in my own beer drinking, each taste is progressively better than the last of just about any beer.

  3. krug said, on January 21, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Good Article. I hope you don’t mind me posting here. I love your site, I’ll look forward to your next article

  4. etiberius said, on January 21, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    It is interesting to see which beers you like- The Full Sus- is an American Pale Ale- which according to what I’ve read is hoppy- yet not overpowering so. From the list of beers you tried this seems like it would be the hoppiest, followed by the Chasing Tail- yet you seemed to like them the most. Maybe the bitterness you are experiencing is coming from somewhere besides the hops.

    BTW it is interesting to see how similar a lot of these brewpubs are when naming and developing beers. I really see a lack of originality- or maybe they are owned by some Vanilla Corporate overlords… but seriously Vienna Lager–snoozeville

  5. […] Optimator was a beer that Alex/Watcher recommended. He also recommended Full Suspension, which I liked, so I fully expected or at least hoped to like Spaten Optimator. The hefeweizens I’ve tried […]

  6. Uinta Trader IPA « Daily beer project said, on August 22, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    […] I ordered a Chasing Tail, would she have said “I’m sorry we don’t have that, but we have a golden ale from […]

  7. Porters and more « Daily beer project said, on December 1, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    […] so my expectations were high. Frankly I liked the St. Peters better. This beer is quite a lot like Full Suspension, which is a delightful beer, and which is also quite convenient since I can get Full Suspension at […]

  8. Retrospective « Daily beer project said, on January 5, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    […] Bohemian Czech Pilsner. This was a tough decision, as there are a lot of good beers made in Utah, Full Suspension, Chasing Tail, First Amendment, and WYLD among them. But ultimately I chose Bohemian because 1) it’s good; […]


Leave a Reply

