Daily beer project

The ground rules

Posted in The Project by dailybeerproject on January 12, 2010

I don’t like beer. So much so, in fact, that I have never actually finished a beer. But for the sake of not being the prissy guy who can’t enjoy a beer with his friends, I would like to like beer. For the next thirty days, I am going to attempt to acquire a taste for beer by having one every day.

Here are the ground rules:

  1. I will drink one single serving container of beer per day–no more, no less.
  2. I will drink a different beer each day with no repeats.
  3. I will alternate between lagers and ales each day.
  4. I will consume at least one each of home-brewed beer, brewpub beer, and grocery store beer (in this state 3.2% abv).
  5. The beer I drink on the 30th day will be a Budweiser–if I like Budweiser, I think it’s safe to say I have come to like beer.
  6. I reserve the right to amend the ground rules such that the 30 days are not consecutive.
  7. My wife, who also does not like beer, has the right to veto the project at any point if she decides either of us has had enough.

If I happen to have any readers as a result of this project, I welcome your input regarding beers I should try. Helpful friends have provided a good list to help me get through the first week. We’ll see where things go from there.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dug said, on January 12, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    nothing on tap?

  2. bradk said, on January 13, 2010 at 12:51 am

    Make sure and pick yourself up a Hoegaarden Belgian White at the liquor store. It will turn anyone into a beer lover in just one swig.

    • steve-o said, on January 17, 2010 at 1:05 am

      Ditto this. It also comes with its own handy pouring instructions on the label. my wife’s favorite drink is a Lindeman’s Lambic Kriek filling half the glass with a Hoegaarden poured over to top it off.

  3. Alex/Watcher said, on January 13, 2010 at 5:40 am

    Oh man, I am all over this project. Clearly, you are a Man Of Science.

  4. SYJ said, on January 13, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Dug (and your response) makes a good, albeit subtle, point…a ‘normal’ beer served on tap and a brewpub beer are not necessarily one in the same. Moreover, a tap beer and a bottled beer of the same make/model tend to demonstrate different flavor profiles. There are some beers that I don’t care for in bottles, but love on tap (Widmer Hefe comes to mind). And finally, liking beer and liking Budweiser are two entirely different things.

  5. Retrospective « Daily beer project said, on January 5, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    […] a year ago, I began this project in an attempt to learn to like beer. It was a new year’s resolution of sorts. I had no idea at […]


Leave a Reply

